In News

The Association for Specialist Fire Protection announced the winners of the 2018 Passive Fire Protection Industry Awards on Friday, 7 December 2018 at an Awards Lunch held in the Plaisterers’ Hall, London.

The five awards were presented by BBC broadcaster Steph McGovern to companies and individuals judged to have contributed to the advancement of awareness, quality and education within the passive fire protection sector.

ASFP CEO Niall Rowan offered his congratulations to all the winners:

“The ASFP Passive Fire Protection Awards aim to highlight excellence in passive fire protection and reward those who contribute to the advancement of the sector.

“All of today’s winners demonstrate the huge level of dedication, experience and professionalism offered by ASFP members and it gives me great pleasure to offer my congratulations and thanks to them for their support in raising standards across the sector and promoting the Association and its aims.

“2018 has been a hugely successful year for the ASFP, in which we have seen significant increases in membership and launched our Level 3 and Level 2 training programmes which aim to raise quality and competence in the sector. It is important that the ASFP and its members continue to strive for improvement as we face the challenges thrown up from the Grenfell fire and the subsequent Hackitt Review of Building Regulations. Today’s Awards clearly demonstrate our members’ expertise and commitment.”

Fellowship of the ASFP

Awarded to Paul Bussey of AHMM Architects. Paul is an architect and an enthusiastic proponent of passive fire protection to ensure fire safety in buildings. Since he first served on the ASFP roundtable at Firex in 2016 he has provided the drive in developing the RIBA Plan of Works overlay for fire safety.

Recognised as offering a huge contribution to fire safety, the Plan of Works offers visible recognition and shape to Dame Judith Hackitt’s Golden Thread, and has resulted in the ASFP being promoted in areas where it previously had little traction.

Passive Fire Protection Advocate of the Year

Awarded to Ian Outram of Tremco-illbruck for his long devotion to raising standards in the passive fire protection industry. Ian has worked constantly to develop the industry and support the ASFP.

He actively takes part in ASFP technical meetings, while playing a vital role internally in the development testing programmes that extend the usage capabilities of fire stopping products. Ian also takes his knowledge to site, training contractors and installers and offering practical demonstrations developed from real world situations on site.

Member Contribution of the Year

Awarded to Chuck Lewis of IFC Group for consistently excelling in his chairmanship of Technical Task Group 7 (Active Fire Barrier Curtains) and going over and above the duties normally required for this role. Chuck has also provided leadership to the active fire barrier curtains sector of the industry demonstrating that such systems deserve to be considered as a serious alternative to conventional fire resisting construction or suppression systems.

Passive Fire Innovation of the Year

Awarded to ARC Building Solutions for its ARC Fire Stopping System for use at party walls and eaves of semi-detached and terraced buildings. The solution not only prevents the spread of smoke and flames but also provides an effective edge seal. The system helps to make houses safer while also providing thermal insulation and reducing heating costs by controlling thermal loss.

It was launched at the end of 2017 and has already been specified by two major house builders for their new build programmes in 2018/19.

Thanks to all our members and guests

Thanks to all our members and guests who attended this prestigious Awards event. We hope you enjoyed the day.

Special thanks to all those members who made nominations. Every member nominated deserves special recognition. Congratulations to all those shortlisted, including:

Fellowship of the ASFP: Norman MacDonald; Chuck Lewis

Passive Fire Protection Innovation of the Year: Hilti Great Britain Ltd; R. Lewis & Co (UK) Ltd; and Sherwin-Williams

Best Installation Project: Fire Protection Specialists Ltd; and Fire Containment Ltd

Member Contribution of the Year: Carl Atkinson

We look forward to the 2019 Awards and to hearing of all your endeavours. Make sure you send us your nominations next year.